2012 Snow

We start with the 50th annual Canadian Power Toboggan Championships in Beausejour, Manitoba. The weather was great and the turn out was fantastic as racers young and old, along with industry dignitaries and fans all piled into the facility to enjoy the sleds and the racing. A parade was held on the race track with vintage sleds from almost every era on display. Note the above photo from Jim (ICECUBE) Strandlund.

The big race vintage race winners was a local – Tyler Obie on his 79 Ski-Doo who took the coveted Jerry Bunke Memorial Trophy home. Christian Gmiterek of Beasejour won the two IFSX 340 titles. Jeff Karrow of Alexandria MN won both 250 IFS races.

Troy Pierce and Vic Mazur traded wins with the 440 leafers, both were riding Polaris Starfires. Both 340 classes went to Troy Pierce, riding the 73 Starfires of Aaron Johnson. Adam Hagen of Wasilla Alaska won both 250 super-mod classes, and Jason Boyda ow Winnipeg won two superstock title son his Yamaha. Mike Smith of Wasilla Alaska took home two wins in the Masters class, Donny Schmidt and Jeff Lausten split the Open Mod classes.

Troy Pierce also took Ealry Mod 440 and both Early Mod 340 classes. Crowd favorite Framin’ Armand Westlund won a Pro Mod 300 class, as did Adam Hagen. John Zelinsky won both Relic Mod classes.

2012 Snow

One of the speakers at the banquet was Aaron Johnson, Polaris dignitary, racer, race sled owner, engineer and all around good guy.

See more photos from ICECUBE here.


In Glenwood Minnesota, Jacob Goede took over his brother Matt’s 440 and 250 and drove himself to a second Hetteen Cup title in three years. Jacob was just two points ahead of his closest competition, Donny Feide. The racers all say the track at Glenwood was the best ever, and the staff their did an excellent job.

This entry was posted in Racing. Bookmark the permalink.